Presented by Fran Wire, Proprietor
George’s Mill Farm B&B
Sunday, May 20, 2018 @ 2:00 pm
Memories of the past at George’s Mill Farm will brought to mind on Sunday, May 20, by Fran Wire, proprietor of George’s Mill Farm B&B and a former Board member of the Lovettsville Historical Society & Museum.Fran will discuss the history and the colorful past of George’s Mill Farm, which is located just west of Lovettsville, off Irish Corner Road.
During the last year of the Civil War, the school house at George’s Mill was used as headquarters for Union cavalry troops, and was the site of a Confederate raid in January 1865. An enduring memory is the courting of Samuel George’s daughter Lizzie both by a New York Cavalry officer, and also by Christopher “Lum” Wenner, a neighbor and a Confederate soldier.
Georges Mill Farm can be dated through records going back to 1774. At that time, the land was owned by John George, who had come here, to the German Settlement, in the 1700s from Germany via Pennsylvania. George’s Mill Farm has remained in the hands of the George family for eight generations.
The program will be held at St. James United Church of Christ, 10 East Broad Way, Lovettsville, on May 20, 2018 at 2:00 p.m. Admission is free, but donations are welcome to defray expenses of the program and to support the activities of the Lovettsville Historical Society.